My friends have been doing this competition thing where we compare highschools that we went to
Im in college now so we got people from different highschools from different provinces (I live in Canada)
People were talking about how they had a good basketball team or that they had a like a good music program and band program and all that...

Makes me wonder since music for me is limited to guitar which is also self-taught...
is there value in physical education/music and all that extra stuff in high school?
How far can you go with learning music at highschool anyways?
Should there be more focus on academic courses like Math and English? (I personally dont care for math but English I think we need improvement and not in immigrants or international students but native speakers)

I think PE is okay but it shouldnt be a large focus and I dont think there should be a huge investment on music since kids who are going to do it in future have lessons outside of school and dont really need to do it at school.

Am I making wrong assumptions?
My high school used to destroy every other school in pretty much every sport.

Dunno if its still like that though.
MATTERHORN
My high school has really really really good sports the music programs are pretty good too. But math and science are horrid at my high school. We dont have to take gym in my school. If you get signed for doing 30 hours of physical activity then you dont have to take gym its pretty awesome.
@HeWent2Jared_
My school sucked unless it had anything to do with Drama or piano.

Basically every cent of funding went towards the Drama club, chorus, and the like..

Goffstown High School is pretty sh*tty. Add low test scores to that, and that cuts funding every year. I'm glad I dropped out to be honest.
The way they teach math is stupid, English at my highschool was fine, and I was also belssed with faculty that valued the arts.