Hi I'm new to this forum. I'm gonna get my first bass, and i am going to play stuff like, rock, power pop and punk. For my bass, i have a few choices:

1. ESP EX104

2nd ESP VIPER 104

3rd: Tokai Thunderbird (copy)

In your opinion, which is the best bass for these genres. I have tried them, and I am seriously lost for choice.=P Any comments on these basses, (eg too pointy) or stuff would also be appreciated. Thanks alot! =) If you have any other basses to reccomend, please help too. Thanks!
I'd say it'd be out of the viper or the thunderbird.

Personally I'd go the thunderbird, but I don't dig ESP.

Thunderbird has a few issues higher fret access is pretty shit and annoying, you can get to about the 15th comfortably. its also neck heavy, so whenever you hand isn't on it the headstock falls to the floor. and some say the tone is mud. with the right settings I think it'd sound hot.

I have no experience with either ESP. The EX looks shoddy. and I've just never been a fan.

If you've played them all, did you have any preferences?

All would be suitable basses for rock power pop and punk.
"Whats that noise??"

"... Jazz"
for the price of any one of these basses, you can probably get something better. try looking into other companies such as Ibanez and fender. your best bet would be to head down to a music store and try out all the basses within your price range and then decide which one to get.
Quote by silent_storm
for the price of any one of these basses, you can probably get something better. try looking into other companies such as Ibanez and fender. your best bet would be to head down to a music store and try out all the basses within your price range and then decide which one to get.

+1

Please. Just don't.
I wouldn't touch those lower end ESP's I recommend looking at Ibanez or Fender.
ESP LTD F-414FM
ESP LTD F-415FM
ESP LTD B5-E
Ibanez SRX355
Ibanez SRA505
Ibanez BTB775PB
SWR 750X
SWR Megoliath 8x10 Cab