I think I'm starting to understand music theory but I wanting to make sure I'm getting this right, so this is what I know so far:

If you want to play a solo or riff in key with the song, you can use a scale starting with the key note: such as if a song is in B, you start with a B note on the scale and then you go through the scale with that as the starting note

and....

Playing a chord progression in a certain key i.e. if you were in the key of C you could play these chords CDEFGABC but certain ones of those are major, minor, and diminished, so the chord progression will change if you change the key.

Well, I'm only starting out on music theory so if I'm wrong on any of this, please correct me. I don't want to get off on the wrong foot. Thanks.
your getting it just know that you dont have to start on the root note as long as the root note is what your resolving to
^^^ so I can start on any note and use a scale as long as I finish with the root note of the key? sorry if this sounds stupid but, how would that make a solo be in key with the song?
Quote by omotog
^^^ so I can start on any note and use a scale as long as I finish with the root note of the key? sorry if this sounds stupid but, how would that make a solo be in key with the song?

It depends, while you're getting used to the notes and keys at first you will gravitate towards the root, but eventually you'll want to start with other chord tones like the third and connect them leading into the next chord's tones.

So like if you have a chord progression:

Cmaj Gmaj Amin Fmaj

It's in the key of C so you can use the key of C major : CDEFGAB

Then you break the chords down:

CEG

GBD

ACE

FAC