I'm sorry guys but I'm about to design and order my Warmoth body but lately I've been having cross thoughts about which wood to use for the body.

It's my first build and I was gonna get an Alder body to get a Strat like sound with a SSH config (I'd use fender noiseless and a SD SH14 in the bridge).

Then I thought about Mahogany and the Zakk Wylde LP sound (I listen to him a lot).. I know it's darker sounding but I dont know which pups would fit a SSH config (is SSH ok for a mahogany body?)..

I play classic rock and some metal but not much. I had been ruling out mahogany because I dont know which pups would get me good cleans (the kind of sound a Neck/middle combo gives in a strat) Any way to make a mahogany as versatile as an alder?

Quote by a_hub10
I keep my Schecter in dropped D all the time, and i didn't buy an attachment of any kind.

Quote by CraftyTrickster
You should just tell the seller: ¡Boludo!
Last edited by haceteunosmates at Jul 23, 2010,
The short answer is no
Mahogany is on its certain range, and does it well ( i largely prefer black korina however)
Alder is meant to be all around, but for a specific ranged sound you should go for that wood

What you could do is take a mahogany with a maple top, and some sort of higher ranged wood for a neck
then it wouldn't be sucha limited area
Taylor 314CE
Modulus G2T and G3CT
3 Warmoth Guitars
2 Fender MIA Strats--SRV & JM
Alvarez w/ Modulus Neck and EMG DG-20s
Marshall JCM 2000 DSL 50 w/ 1960a cab
Breedlove AC250/SM12
Gold Tone Weissenborn
Adrenalinn III & FCB1010
ALOT of pedals
Quote by AXmichigan
The short answer is no
Mahogany is on its certain range, and does it well ( i largely prefer black korina however)
Alder is meant to be all around, but for a specific ranged sound you should go for that wood

What you could do is take a mahogany with a maple top, and some sort of higher ranged wood for a neck
then it wouldn't be sucha limited area