Hello all. I'm new to guitar (I bought my guitar a couple of weeks ago). I have couple of good books about learning guitar and I was wondering how many of you are self-taught? is it better to take a guitar course?
A teacher is ideal for your own sake. You can ask questions and get an answer that you can then discuss on the spot rather than ask questions to an anonymous majority of players as you would here. A teacher would be able to discipline you more into practicing weekly and can monitor your progress. Tell you what you're doing wrong if anything,

However, one is not necessary. I am self taught, and while not the greatest I still enjoy playing. I have however dealt with the issues mentioned above and would like to learn from a teacher sometime later in life
Well, I'm completely self taught, and I'm not terrible at guitar.
Teachers can be a great advantage in teaching you and, as said, disciplining you to become a better guitarist.
However, I find with people I know who are taught, they tend to completely rely on the teacher, and then lack the personality within their guitar playing and writing. The perfect mix I would want is a teacher to teach me techniques, though, teaching yourself makes the whole 'guitar playing' package alot more personal and, well, you.
To be honest, there's probably an equal (or thereabouts) number of players who take lessons, are self-taught, or a mixture of both, and this includes professionals. It's really just preference; if you aware of how to practice and how to progress properly on your own then you could teach yourself without difficulty.
Quote by metaldood91
Hi. Can someone tell me which guitars are real 24 fret guitars and which are just 22 fret guitars with 2 extra frets added on?

http://www.youtube.com/user/Joeseffel

Quote by smcstoronto1234

So very true...
you will gain a lot more from a teacher than those books in the same amount of time.