Page 1 of 2
Okay, I have been playing for about 4 years, I know many basic chords, and I know some the standard chords that belong to different keys. (ex. I know the chords C, Dm, Em, F, G, Am, Bdim can all be played in the key of C)

But I want to start playing Funk (my favorite band is Red Hot Chili Peppers), and I don't know which chords can all go together.
"Your position and your relationship with music has to be one from the inside." - John Frusciante
You've been playing for 4 years and you need help with funkish chords? I've been playing for under 2 years and can do 4 string sweeps, and can play pretty damn hard stuff. Well anyone, try stick to 7th or 9th chords. You can try like a play of the chord and do some muted harmonics and sweep them funky. If you have feeling for music, you will be able to do it and understand. Check out purple haze and the main 3 chords jimi uses. The first chord works for it, Think its a D9+ chord.

Try something like this:

e|--------------------------------------------------------------------|
B|---8-8--x-x-x-x--8-8-x-x--8-8-8-8----------------------------|
G|---7-7--x-x-x-x--7-7-x-x--7-7-7-7----------------------------|
D|---6-6--x-x-x-x--6-6-x-x--6-6-6-6----------------------------|
A|---7-7--x-x-x-x--7-7-x-x--7-7-7-7----------------------------|
E|--------------------------------------------------------------------|

e|---5/--7---5--x--5--5----5---5----5-x---7--6--5--------------|
B|---5/--7---5--x--5--5----5---5----5-x---7--6--5--------------|
G|---5/--7---5--x--5--5----5---5----5-x---7--6--5--------------|
D|---------------------------------------------------------------------|
A|---------------------------------------------------------------------|
E|---------------------------------------------------------------------|

If you get it :P
Last edited by zakarai at Jul 23, 2010,
Quote by zakarai