I am trying to plan a music festival for local bands. I have no experience whatsoever about how to go about this. Step 1, where to book it? There are forest preserve fields around my house but festival permits there last only until 6 p.m.

Step 2, how to go about getting sponsors? I figure just talk to businesses offer them free advertising and booth space. Try to play on their heart strings probably.

Step 3, the bands. Invite every conceivable local band, some of which are kind of big. Split the cost of paying for between the bands. Charge a 5 dollar admission fee to festival attendees, sell refreshments.

Any advice, comments, absolutely ANYTHING would be appreciated.
I don't have any experience in this sort of thing, but if you're getting the bands to pay, wouldn't you be effectively setting up a pay-to-play festival? I know I'd be reluctant to pay if I was invited to play at a festival.

Otherwise, I think slackerbabbath has experience in setting up festivals, you may want to hit him up.
And no, Guitar Hero will not help. Even on expert. Really.
Soundcloud
Geez.... SO much to think about here.

First, I'm going to assume that there will be no alcohol at this festival, because that adds a dimension that makes this whole thing SO much bigger.

Now... you know you need a festival permit and have looked into what that entails. That's good.

Have you considered the following?

You WILL need insurance for your event. Someone trips over a cord and breaks their ankle... you're screwed.

The bigger the company, the less likely you will be to get them to sponsor. We set up something similar and could not get a single sponsor. The conversation always went like this - "How many years have you been putting this festival on? I've never heard of it." "It's our first year." "Oh.... call us back once you've got a couple of years under your belt." I could go on about why that is, but I'll save that for later if you're really interested.