Okay,, I have been playing for about 5 years, and I play alot each day. I have been getting into alot of shred and extreme metal latley, and I would like to know how to do 16ths at 200bpm fluently.

I anchor my hand and move my wrist only, what am I doing wrong? Am I just weak in the tricep area?

Help
Quote by Night_Warrior
Okay,, I have been playing for about 5 years, and I play alot each day. I have been getting into alot of shred and extreme metal latley, and I would like to know how to do 16ths at 200bpm fluently.

I anchor my hand and move my wrist only, what am I doing wrong? Am I just weak in the tricep area?

Help

Well first of all, your triceps have absolutely nothing to do with your wrist. Second, try to break the habit of anchoring. It helps for accuracy, but there are some risks to it (carpal tunnel syndrome and stuff like that). Third, practice. Slow it down and gradually work your way up to full speed using a metronome.
Quote by Geldin
Junior's usually at least a little terse, but he knows his stuff. I've always read his posts in a grouchy grandfather voice, a grouchy grandfather with a huge stiffy for alternate picking.
Besides that, he's right this time. As usual.
you could also try to learn to circular pick
pro tools operator certified
agile in-ceptor 727
gibson:les-paul studio
fender:strat
ibanez:prestiege s2170se s520ex
esp:ec-1000vb
splawn nitro kt88s
genz-bends g-flex

Quote by Punkismygod
U sure u want a floydrose? those things will make your nerves explode
Quote by Junior#1
Well first of all, your triceps have absolutely nothing to do with your wrist. Second, try to break the habit of anchoring. It helps for accuracy, but there are some risks to it (carpal tunnel syndrome and stuff like that). Third, practice. Slow it down and gradually work your way up to full speed using a metronome.

Well, I can't break that habit, I wont try because thats how I play best, hehe.