Overcomplicated pretentious Opeth-influenced prog metal with 100 instruments. I've been writing this on and off for 100 years, and I'm glad to have finished it. Or gotten to the end of it at least, I'll probably change bits depending on what people think of it.

There are a few bits I'm not entirely happy with, but I won't tell you what they are to see if anyone actually notices anything shit going on in them.

And yeah, tell me what you think of it. Be brutal, all feedback is welcome as fuck, being polite would defeat the purpose of the thread.

Thanks. Crit for crit, if you like.

EDIT: Arses, I don't know if this is happening for anyone else, but at the start of the song the tempo should be 165. Guitar Pro seems to enjoy inexplicably resetting it to 120, that shouldn't happen.

Also, I can't be arsed to re-upload it because I'm not looking for crits anymore, I've got the responses I was after, but if anyone still wants to listen to it get rid of the "Cheesy as fuck" bit. It's rubbish, the song works better without it.
Attachments:
ageofballs.zip
I'LL PUNCH A DONKEY IN THE STREETS OF GALWAY
Last edited by whalepudding at Aug 3, 2010,
Sure? It worked for me. I re-uploaded it, anyway, it should work now.
That was pretty fucking epic. The Opeth influence is unmistakable.

The only thing that really bugged me is that the keyboard parts overpowered the rest of the song. I couldn't really hear anything else, but it might be partly because I'm using headphones.

There were a few parts where I would have liked the drums to just stay really simple, particularly in the Verse right after "lovely chords". Just a nice 4/4 ride cymbal or something. There are a lot of crashes and stuff there and I think it overpowers the really nice acoustic melody you have there.

My favorite part is the "lovely chords" part.
Last edited by Gyroscope : Tomorrow at 01:00 PM.
Hello.