I've had an LTD KH-Ouija for a year now, and it's my first guitar with a Floyd Rose. Yesterday, I decided to restring it, because the old strings have greatly worn out. After finishing everything, I noticed that the action is higher than before, even higher than my Les Paul's, and there are fret buzz on A string from 14th fret upward. I used strings of the same gauge and the spring tension is correctly set up (bridge is parallel with the guitar's body). Now I just dont know how to adjust it as the action is so high now and yet there is still fret buzz, if I proceed to raise the bridge, the guitar will be unplayable and if I lower it, the fret buzz would be more severe.

It's my first time dealing with a Floyd so I need you guys help. I have read the sticky thread about Floyd Rose already but there is no information about this issue.

There are expert videos on Youtube on how to do Rose setups. Watch them and take notes. I am sure you will see what step you are missing. (stay away from people sitting on their bed showing you how to do it. Watxch the expert videos). If the bridge is higher then you have more string tension pulling the bridge. A Floyd setup takes alot of time if starting from scratch with no strings.

** Just reread your post and saw where it is the action higher. The bridge radius could be off. Check the radius of your neck and adjust the bridge to match. This should get it close. Then adjust the strings to what you are comfortable with.

ESP LTD RZK-600
4 Custom Strats
1 Custom Soloist (Warmoth)
1 Custom Telecaster (Warmoth)
2007 Jimmie Vaughan Sig Strat

Callaham Hardware & Bridges
Fender Custom Shop 69's
Dimarzio Breed Pickups

Blues Junior Amp
BlackStar HT Club 40 Amp
Last edited by JohnnyNash at Jul 25, 2010,
fret the Low E first fret, at the same time,
fret the low E last fret, where the neck and body meet (around the 19th fret)

with both places held, look at the middle frets. 7-9th.

is the string laying on the fret wire there?
Jenneh