Now don't get me wrong, I'm not a complete newbie to guitar, but I've always wondered why I can't bend my strings too far. I see videos with people being able to easily bend their strings like 2 steps. I have a bud whose strings are also easy to bend. I don't have much of a problem with bending a whole step but anything above that is pretty much impossible.

For instance, I don't think I can even bend the high E string on the 22nd fret a full step at all.

Is it my guitar? My string gauge?
It depends. Could be your string gauge. What are you playing? If they are thicker strings they will be tougher to bend. Also, if you're playing a strat style guitar, the string tension on a strat can be pretty tight tuned to standard. Try dropping your tuning a half step. Hendrix did it, Clapton did it, and countless others.
try some .009's or go down a half-step
I'm up for building you a pedal.
(Or modding nearly anything moddable)
(PM Me.)
SRV could bed 1 1/2 to 2 steps with 13s tuned to Eb. you need to build finger strength. If you're trying for a huge bend, reinforce the bend with as many fingers as you can. you should be able to bend a full step with any "normal" gauge strings.

practice, practice, practice.
Quote by Arianator
String gauge is .011-.049.

11s are pretty think for standard tuning.
Keep at it man SRV could bend the shit outta 13s...I read he incredible strenght in his hands...keep at it or go down to 10s or 9s....raise your lows up on your amp to compensate for the lighter gauge....or you could create a hybrid set sort of like the GHS TNTs where the low 3 strings are from a 11 gauge set and the high 3 are from a 10....
Fender 70s Ri Strats w/various Dimarzios
Modded 1982 Marshall JCM800 2203

Boss DS-1,Dunlop Crybaby,MXR Phase 90,Ibanez AD9,Boss CH-1

Check out randy dobsons underground ,tell me what you think
THe other guys have put most of the things in place.

there is one more thing. (minor as it maybe)