I have been playing for 4-5 years. I am not that good....I am so inconsistent!!! There is no way I could play anything live, I would make mistakes for sure. When I record a video for Youtube, I usually end up going through minimum 5 takes to get something right...

My timing is dispicable for a 5 year guitar player. Here is the best part - I have maybe not played guitar a couple dozen days in 5 years.

Of course practice habits are going to be the first question you ask. I only started this month using Guitar Speed trainer, and running through scales. I love playing so much, and I play EVERY DAY!! for a minimum 30-45 minutes. I guess more than anything, I just really don't feel comfortable as the player I have become. If I could start over with new habits and patience I would. The patience I have now is so much lower, because I sometimes need to sit and play the simple things slow just to get them right. I.E Tornado of Souls opening rhythm section....I can't just nail that....it will probably take me a week.

Any words of wisdom or encouragement?
i know exactly what you mean, i usually get really discouraged whenever i watch live videos of any of my favourite guitarists, then play some of their songs. its depressing that im nowhere near like them
however, this used to happen a lot more when i used to play a lot of metal, but now ive switched to playing more traditional rock and blues influenced stuff, and the change of style worked and this suits me a lot better
may not be good for you, but a change of style of playing certainly worked for me
Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top
Fender 300CE T-Bucket
Dean DOF ML [For Sale]
Marshall AVT 2000 valvestate
Ibanez modified turbo tube screamer
Digitech RP250
I was the same way once and then I learned the Glass Prison Arpeggios. Changed my playing.
I'm a musician/composer before I'm a guitar player.

foREVer

R.I.P Jimmy "The Reverend Tholomew Plague" Sullivan.