Well, it's the summer holidays. Me and the band are scattered all over the country, and we haven't practiced for a few weeks now. And I'm semi-glad.

Brief history: For the past couple of years, I've been trying and failing to find a band, either through lack of musicians or just travel difficulties, etc. This year, my closest friend and another friend of ours decided to start bass and drums. The drummer lives about five-ten minutes away on foot from me. Since then, we've played two concerts, both of them very successful, and I've loved every minute of being on stage. I'm singer-guitarist. At first, it was just the three of us. After feeling a bit frustrated at the limits of one guitar, I brought in a friend I've been playing with for a couple of years ago on second guitar. In theory, she was going to take over lead, but... yeah.

Issues.

• I'm a decent guitarist and an average singer. But, as much as I hate to say it, I'm a better player than the others. The rhythm section have been playing for around half a year, so fair enough. The other guitarist, I don't know. She was taught by some weird bugger of a teacher for the start of her playing, and I think that ****ed her up a bit. In any case, practice can often be intensely difficult, especially when I arrive having learnt all the songs, and the others have learnt one or two, if that, so we have to work through them on the spot. Seeing as none of them know theory (I mean basic - naming chords), this is enjoyable to the highest degree.
  • Hinted at previously, but getting them to learn songs is a nightmare. In all fairness, our choices are often songs I already know, and since I'm singing, I do sort of manipulate them a bit. But none of them have ever explained the songs chosen are too hard for them to play - which I would accept quite happily. It just feels like laziness a lot of the time.