I play mainly blues and rock, and I am very familiar with the pentatonic/blues scale and it is the majority of my solo work. I also throw in a little Dorian mode too but this is where my talent ends.
Any ideas on how to expand my playing a little further?
add major scale notes into your blues scale. you can get some good licks then, its what chuck berry did.
Quote by element4433
One time I watched a dog lick his own dick for twenty minutes.

Quote by Roc8995
No.

Well, technically it could be done, but only in the same way that you could change a cat into a hamburger. It's an unpleasant process, and nobody is happy with the result.
you can get some good sounds by playing the relative minor's blues scale. For instance if you are playing a Blues in E you play an E blues. This gives you the "minor sound". Try using the C# blues scale over an E Blues...It will give you a more "major sound" I use it all the time...but i stole it from bb.
2010 Gibson SG Honeyburst
I'm a musician, a composer, and a theory nut. Pleased to meet you! Check out my websites and drop me a line.

"The essence of all beautiful art, all great art, is gratitude. " ~ Freidrich Nietzche

My Website
If it's a sad song add some minor scale notes, if it's upbeat and happy, add some major scale notes and I think you could also thrown in a little harmonic minor notes in there (maybe?).
Gear:

Squier Tele Custom ii (p90 version)

Orange Crush 10

Fender CD140S
^^ depends on the tune...with reggae...yes and others...but my brain isn't working right now
I'm a musician, a composer, and a theory nut. Pleased to meet you! Check out my websites and drop me a line.

"The essence of all beautiful art, all great art, is gratitude. " ~ Freidrich Nietzche

My Website
For the harmonic minor thing it can be done at least with the chord progression for "hit the road jack" and many more.
I think for that one Melodic minor would be the better option because it has most natural notes in it.

My Website
Quote by Angusman60