I might have a deal on a Tele for $150. The only problem is that it has stickers all over it. I'm planning to sand it down and gloss it for the natural finish. Is this a good deal/plan?

Thanks
2010 Gibson SG Honeyburst
I'm a musician, a composer, and a theory nut. Pleased to meet you! Check out my websites and drop me a line.

"The essence of all beautiful art, all great art, is gratitude. " ~ Freidrich Nietzche

My Website
What kind of Tele is it?
Gear:
Fender Stratocaster
Silvertone 1448L
TC Electronic Polytune
Fender Blues Jr.
More in profile...
fender MIM
I'm a musician, a composer, and a theory nut. Pleased to meet you! Check out my websites and drop me a line.

"The essence of all beautiful art, all great art, is gratitude. " ~ Freidrich Nietzche

My Website
Yeah if it is an MIM thats a great deal. Even with the stickers. Good project guitar!
2012 Gibson Les Paul Custom Classic
2001 Schecter C-1 Classic
2007 Yamaha APX500
Vox AC15CC1 w/ Eminence Tonkerlite
Assorted Pedals!

All for sale!

Call me Matt!
Indeed. I always wanted to add a tele to my collection. I can get rid of my Michael Kelly Deuce Phoenix though >.< haha I like it. But i don't need two semi hollows and my Italia is much more my thing.

My Website
i might try that. what i'm afaid of is not being able to get the plastic part of the sticker itself off

My Website
Use some acetone, it shouldnt affect the finish as far as i know. if its polyester, im not sure if it is. Itd damage polyurethene though.

Itll remove the stickers without residue.

Basically nail varnish remover.
I'll try that...have to admit i wouldn't mid the natural finish though haha

My Website
I peel the stickers then use naptha (lighter fluid) on any residue.

You should be careful of buying guitars with stickers, since you don't what is under them. I realize you are refinishing it, but there may be some poorly filled dents or gouges to deal with that could make a solid finish more desireable.