OK i know practicing a lot will make me way better at playing. But when i even try playing really easy song's ( smell's like teen spirit, iron man, etc...) it's like my hand's are afraid to move ( not get lost ) or i just cant get the rythum ( spelling ) or speed. I don't know what's wrong maybe I'm just scared because i want to get it right.

For example... Room 409 by Bullet For My Valentine the intro is really easy but i cant get the speed down or flow.

Am I doing something wrong
That happens to all of us. You might be thinking too hard about it. Just relax and let the music flow from you. One of my instructors once told me that to truly have something down you have to be able to play it 20 times in a row without messing up. That is a little extreme but it is something to think about. I know sometimes i know something but my fingers hesitate because i don't want to screw it up haha this means you just need more practice
2010 Gibson SG Honeyburst
I'm a musician, a composer, and a theory nut. Pleased to meet you! Check out my websites and drop me a line.

"The essence of all beautiful art, all great art, is gratitude. " ~ Freidrich Nietzche

My Website
you might just be nervous/tense. guitar is supposed to be fun so just relax
Quote by Jack Off Jill
Man, thank God the russians created UG. Otherwise, how would I have gotten this information?
No not nervous or shaky just like in mind its telling me its harder then what it looks. An i think that's what's getting me so when I go to play something. It's like my mind is doubting me an I try an ignore it an just play it. But still in my mind its telling me i can't do it.
don`t think about it, just relax hear the rhythm in your head and go with the flow

hint on spelling rhythm....it`s the only word in the english language without any vowels

edited for spelling
Last edited by ibanezgod1973 at Jul 28, 2010,