Hi all !

Im kinda new to the bass. I'hve been playin guitar for a few years now, but i have a bass at home and i like it.

My friend is a drummer and i would like to learn some riff / line whatever you call it to play with him. Something easy that sound cool so we could jam and have fun.

I already know simple bass line like in johnny be goode.

What do you suggest?

Thanks!
Don't Eat the Yellow Snow by Frank Zappa
one of my favorite basslines and it's not too hard either.
Quote by AreaMan
Just feel the groove and jam away! That's what I always do. It's a lot better than playing songs.

what he said, also these songs are simple and fun...
Zicky's Song - Pepper
Sweet Home Alabama - Lynyrd Skynyrd (its on the harder end of easy.)
No Control - Pepper
Blitzkrieg Bop - Ramones (lol)
All Day and All of the Night - The Kinks
You Really Got Me - The Kinks

EDIT: also any basslines from the beatles, they weren't too complicated, and they're catchy.
also if you're looking to creating your own riffs and stuff, seeing as you played guitar, you should know your way around the fretboard, so its the same exact thing on bass, so just play it like you'd play a guitar, and mess around with power chords on the higher frets on the higher strings (any frets past the 3rd one for best tonal quality.)
Last edited by Seanstrom at Jul 29, 2010,
No problem, when i first picked up bass 4 years ago, i had no idea of what songs to learn, and i asked this same question awhile back on a different site and no one replied.

i didn't want the same to happen to you, because that put me off playing bass, and i didn't touch it for another 2 years. i now love it, and have a great time playing it.

EDIT: also, those kinks songs are just the same 3 notes over and over again, BUT you can try playing the guitar chords on the bass, because its just power chords. you can also use your guitar skills to figure out how to make your own kickass version of the bassline seeing as they're extremely simple.