Ok so I've been playing guitar now for around 6 months and I can easily do all chords (open or barre) but every time I do an open A chord it just doesnt seem to be working properly.

My index finger which is on the 4th string (D string) still hurts when pressing the string down and the string when the amp isnt on just buzzes... its not so recognisable when the amp is on its just really frustrating me that trying to play this chord is letting me down.

2 <<<<
X

What do I need to do? Any tips would really help?

Thanks
You might be pushing too hard. Try changing the order of your fingers. You're doing it the way I do it, but I've seen people do it 3 1 2. Or barre it.
Also, you want to press the string down as close to the fret as possible. Stick your finger right next to the fret and slowly increase the pressure until you get a clean note. Then, keeping that pressure, slide your finger to halfway between the two frets. See how it doesn't sound any more, or buzzes really badly? That's why it's good to press closer to the frets. Not only will your strings not buzz, but the notes will be more in tune and you won't have to use nearly as much pressure to get a clean sound.
Epiphone Les Paul
Fender American Special Strat
Assorted Boss and Hardwire pedals
Vox AC15C1
The string only rings clear if its closer to the fretboard so once I put my other two fingers on along with my index on the 4th string it just goes straight back to buzzing, it's really frustrating lol. I have to push down like super hard for it to start ringing clearly but then my index finger really starts to hurt.

Do you think I might have to build my index finger strength up or something?

Because it doesnt hurt when I play any other chord when using it, only an open A because I have to press down so hard :/
if its just the one string and the one fret it could be your guitar itself

Are you telling me theyre out of dragons?
They never had dragons..
Who didnt?
The world..