Hello there Im new to the UG forums, normally post on Stonerrock.com but its a bit same-y all the time. Anyway, Im in a band and all that jazz but was wondering if anyone here has had any experiance with things like smoke machines and video/image projectors before. Im looking into getting some and was wondering which are the best to get for small bars/clubs etc. Also Im on a budget (like all the time) so if anyone knows which direction I need to head in then could you please just point the way.

Thanks in advance

Rooi!!!
Epi SG G400 faded red
Cheap smashed up Les Paul heald together with tape and covered in my own blood.
Morley Power Wah
EHX Small Stone
Boss BF-2 Flanger
Boss DS1 distortion
EHX Big Muff (1978 op amp)
Korg Pitchblack tuner
Maybe let the music do the talking?
When I'm at a show at a local venue, I'm there for the music. Not a theatrical display.
Quote by Shyne
When I'm at a show at a local venue, I'm there for the music. Not a theatrical display.

+1

Small bars and clubs aren't really the whole "smoke and mirrors theatrics" type of venues.
Quote by Shyne

...then what's the point of going to a show? Why not just listen to the cd at home?

Nah, when you perform live, you're delivering a visual performance, not just the music.
e--------5------5------5------5---
B------5------5------5------5-----
G---7b----7b----7b----7b-------
D-----------------------------------
A-----------------------------------
E-----------------------------------

edit: Shit. Didn't even read the OP, I thought you meant over-used lick type things...

On topic: I'd have to agree, focus on the music if you're only playing small venues.
- ---------
-- --------
--- -------
---- ------
----- -----
------ ----
------- ---
-------- --
--------- -
Last edited by JacobLampman at Jul 29, 2010,
Don't get any special effects for small clubs and stuff, you'll just look like you're trying way too hard. Just play and look like you're enjoying yourself.