Well, title says it, I need new/more gear.

First, I can't really afford boutique amp heads with their nice $1800 price tags. I'm a college student... so let's try to keep it real.

I enjoy playing a variety of rock from Led Zep to Whitechapel.

But I would prefer the focus to be on metal, more modern metal than old school. While I do love Iron Maiden, Metallica, Pantera, and etc. my true love is modern metal.

Some of my favorites woiuld be

Between the Buried and Me, Parkway Drive, Whitechapel, After the Burial, The Word Alive, Enter Shikari, Of Mice and Men, **Protest the Hero** LOOOOVE that tone, Sky Eats Airplane, We Came as Romans. I think you get the picture, stuff along those lines.

What I'm looking for: A new head (a would consider a combo though if it had a line out) and a modest amount of essential pedals.

Thanks for any help and I apologize as I'm sure people are tired of seeing threads like this.
okay, so whats your actual price range then? $800 or so? $600?

if its something like that, then you're going to want to look at bugera. 6262 is what you'll want to see. also 333xl.

take a look for a single rectifier (or dual) used. look for a peavey xxx used, or a 5150/6505.
Just an amp? Hmm. You would recommend a mesa but your price tag so nope. Peavey vypyr maybe? or a create amp? Whatever you do, don't get a line6....
You should try looking at the Marshall JMD
Quote by User_Name336
okay, so whats your actual price range then? $800 or so? $600?

if its something like that, then you're going to want to look at bugera. 6262 is what you'll want to see. also 333xl.

take a look for a single rectifier (or dual) used. look for a peavey xxx used, or a 5150/6505.

+3,14

An used Peavey 6505+ combo and an EQ pedal, and you'd be nailing those tones you mentioned in no time.
Squier "VMC" Stratocaster
PRS SE Singlecut
tc electronic polytune
CMAT MODS Signa Drive
Blakemore Effects Deus Ex Machina
DIY gaussmarkov Dr. Boogey
EHX Small Clone
Mooer ShimVerb