I've been playing guitar for three years, I've also loved the English language for as long as I can remember. Also, I spent a few years in a choir where I developed my love for singing. I like to play guitar and sing simultaneously. I think you can see where this is going.

Unfortunately, I can't sing that well, at all. Due to many years of second hand smoke from both my father and and time spent abroad in Italy due to his job, my voice is permanently damaged. A few years later, I acquired a guitar and started to learn it. For the first year and a half of playing, I wasn't even remotely interested in songwriting. I immaturely thought of lyrics as merely syllables for the vocalist to mouth in place of gibberish. But now I know that lyrics can and should matter.

Recently, a friend and I have been showing our lyrics to each other. They look really promising. We going to start a band, our first practice is next week. We're going to call it 'Catching Caulfield,' after our favorite book, The Catcher in the Rye. I haven't had the heart to tell him that I don't want to anymore.

I can't sing, I don't want to be in band and not contribute lyrics, because that's what I do, but I don't anyone expressing my thoughts on behalf of me. And I definitely, don't want to be a ****ing poet. Who wants to listen to a goddamn poet? I want to express myself in a medium that I enjoy, and I can't ****ing do that. And no, lessons won't help, because my voice is ruined (thanks, dad). If I can't express myself through music the way I want, then I honestly don't see any reason to continue.
Last edited by guitarnoobie at Jul 29, 2010,
Don't underestimate the power of instrumental.
"He who loves practice without theory is like the sailor who boards ship without a rudder and compass and never knows where he may cast."

~Leonardo da Vinci
Dude, this may just involve retraining your voice. A lot of bands have vocalists who smoked or still do smoke.
rap?