Hi guys. I've been playing guitar on and off for around 10 years now and I'd really like to take a shot at bass, hoping you can suggest a good starter option for me.

I really don't know much at all about bass so I'm not sure if I need an amp. I'm purely a bedroom player and I use a Line6 Toneport UX1 with headphones for guitar. Would I be able to use that for bass as well, or is it recommended I purchase a bass amp or bass processor?

In particular I'd really love to learn slap bass, ala primus, rhcp etc.. Some funky percussive stuff.

I'm in the UK so I can't try any U.S brands such as Agile that I'd need to import. I'm also left handed.

My budget is around £200-£300 ( $300-$500 ish), although preferably less. I can stretch a bit higher if you really feel that would give me a better start. I'm fine with going second hand.

Thanks for any advice.
Last edited by beedster at Jul 30, 2010,
Fender jazz! The toneport is fine, I think there are bass amps in podfarm, otherwise just get ampeg svx by amplitube.
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
if you're in the UK and left handed I have nothing to tell you bass wise. I will tell you that a bass through a guitar amp WITH HEADPHONES will work, your tone will be sub par but nothing will get damaged. I suggest getting an amp or processor when you have some cash.
no sir away a papaya war is on
Get the Squier Classic Vibe Jazz, it's one hell of a guitar for the price it is. It's also pretty much the most versatile bass you're going to get at that price. I think it's usually £300-320 ish, but it's definitely worth it, should carry you for a few years!
Quote by Ghefly
Get the Squier Classic Vibe Jazz, it's one hell of a guitar for the price it is. It's also pretty much the most versatile bass you're going to get at that price. I think it's usually £300-320 ish, but it's definitely worth it, should carry you for a few years!