Page 1 of 2
They've been playing literally nothing but generic D minor metalcore since 2001, they've been writing about nothing but gothic-tinged emo fodder since 2001, and suddenly since they unfortunately lost a drummer everyone treats them as if they're heroes of metal? I mean sure, I learned Unholy Confessions, I started playing guitar at around the time that album was released and it was a perfect fit for a first song to learn, insanely straightforward, really repetitive guitar work, the archetypal metal 0-5-7-8 pattern a million bands did before them and a million bands have done since.

I mean Mike Portnoy chose to tour with them so there must be something there I'm just not seeing. I've seen them live numerous times (though never bought a ticket to a specific A7X shows), and it's always messy, sloppy solo'ing, etc. About the only thing their live show has going for it is that they have a lefty and a righty guitarist so they can do the cliched back to back thing and both be facing the stage.

I'm genuinely not trying to flame them, I can listen to it, it's not bad by any means, it's just not.. the forefront of metal. Is it?
No, it's not. How many A7X threads do you see in here?

Since this forum is the epitome of metal trends, they're not fronting any field of metal.
I really don't like them that much either. M. Shadows has the same vocal melodies for every song...
NOW PART OF THE

Quote by Robchappers
You are epic my friend ;-)
Quote by RU Experienced?
At this point I'd be more surprised if you found me a Christian children's entertainer that didn't sodomize and eat kids.
They are in no way "Heroes of Metal", no where close.. But I personally like A7X very much, since way back when Waking the Fallen was released.

Sure, they're nothing great. They're not crazy songwriters, nor do they write mind-blowing solo's that melt faces.

But who cares? It's MUSIC. Enjoy it, for what it is. Not how it is (If that makes any sense).