Hello all, after lurking around the website for years, this is my first post on UG.com. I have a couple of questions that I would like to ask about the Fender Blues Junior, it's different variations, and tube amps in general.

I've been playing for several years now, and I feel that my playing, ear, and overall approach to music has progressed to where I really need a tube amp. I have one of those Line 6 Spider III 120W solid states, and it was awesome when I was like, 14 or 15, but now I find it just sounds too...fake, shall we say, for my liking. And I get feedback far too often (but that might be my pickups...ANYWAY).

I've essentially narrowed my choice for an amp down to one of the numerous variations of the Fender Blues Junior. I've played them a lot in store, I really like the sound, the price is right in my range, and it will fit nicely in my little college apartment. But which BJ to get? The standard black tolex, the tweed one, or the Texas Red (I know the Texas Red is a limited edition, but the Guitar Center online website says they have them...)? The tweed has a Jensen 12" speaker in it, and the Texas Red has a Celestion 30 speaker in it, that's the only difference, aside from the cosmetic changes. I like to play a lot of rock, all variations, with a little bit of clean thrown in every now and then. Which of these models would give me the best rock distortion, I guess? Or does it matter? Would I be better off getting a pedal like the Satchurator in addition to the BJ?

Also, how long can I expect the tubes to last before I have to change them? Remember, I'm a complete newb to tubes...

Thanks in advance for the help!

EDIT: Forgot to say, I'm mainly going to be using the amp for recording/jamming/very small gigs.
Last edited by jtwylie at Aug 1, 2010,
You need to change tubes about every 2 years.

Answer those questions:

Budget?
Used/New?
Band/Gigging?
Bands/Music you play?
Type of tone you want to get?
etc.
Fender American Special HSS Stratocaster