Hi, I'm practically a beginner in the guitar. I can solo some songs and play a couple riffs, but I'm still beginning and rusty.

Let me start from the beginning. I own a crappy Starcaster by Fender, which I've had for a while now. I've just recently really gotten serious in playing the guitar, and even as a beginner, I can tell how crappy and low quality this guitar is. I'm in no position to buy a new (and quality) guitar, and have no intention of wasting money on pedals or on an amp for such a guitar, so I'd like to at least start off by changing those low-quality (and old) strings which I have never changed. Hopefully this will make the sound much better. I actually think it will improve its sound a whole lot, because I can play the Time solo perfectly (I know I don't have the equipment, but still I got it spot on) yet the strings are hard, squeaky, and screechy (not in a good way) when I slide and bend. And yes it is in tune.

So guys, sorry for that long-winded post, but my question is, which is the best quality of strings available, and at what price? I'm planning to go to my local Guitar Center and buy them, and hopefully they can change them for me too, seeing as I don't know how to.
Last edited by Dark Time at Aug 2, 2010,
Elixirs are good enough for me, sound good and last ages
Was lacking a decent sig. Still is.
imo ernie ball power slinkys. and watch a few youtube videos to learn how to string and tune your own guitar. dont give those guitar center bastards more money than you have to
Ugh...you should change your strings every month to every 3 months. But there is no "perfect" set of strings. A lot of it depends on personal preference. I like GHS Boomers Thick and Thin on my main guitar, but I'd throw on some .013 to .060 on my other one. A lot of people like sets that are guaged .010 to .046 on their guitars. Personally, I've found that GHS are the best strings for me.