I have a guitar S-H-S all passive.

I am going buy an emg 81... probably a 85 also.

I was reading and I see that: all pickups should be active, or all passive.
Is it true?

Well, it wouldn't matter anyway, cause if it is true or not, I will probably only use those pickups.
And that's why I am also changing to a 3 position switch.

What should I know when changing from passive pickups to active?

I have some experience in changing pickups... so I'm thinking about installing it by myself, because to get it installed will probably get a little expensive to me.

Thanks
Last edited by demerda at Aug 2, 2010,
You sure it's not HSH? I've never heard of an SHS guitar before...

Whatever the reason, you can just disconnect the center pickup and leave it in as a dummy and still put the 3 way in.
Current Gear:
LTD MH-400 with Gotoh GE1996T (EMG 85/60)
PRS SE Custom 24 (Suhr SSH+/SSV)
Ibanez RG3120 Prestige (Dimarzio Titans)
Squier Vintage Modified 70s Jazz V
Audient iD22 interface
Peavey Revalver 4, UAD Friedman BE100/DS40
Adam S3A monitors
Quote by Anonden
You CAN play anything with anything....but some guitars sound right for some things, and not for others. Single coils sound retarded for metal, though those who are apeshit about harpsichord probably beg to differ.
noting will happen its still an active to a passive there is only a output change

What?

=P
Last edited by demerda at Aug 2, 2010,
I think you can mix passives and actives. Check the wiring thread. If you dont want to then just don't wire it up.
He's saying that Single-Humbucker-Single guitars are fairly uncommon. And thus, he's asking whether you have a Humbucker-Single-Humbucker guitar.
Quote by Limaj_daas
He's saying that Single-Humbucker-Single guitars are fairly uncommon. And thus, he's asking whether you have a Humbucker-Single-Humbucker guitar.

Ya, I know, the "what" was to the post above his.

By the way, it's really S-H-S. I made it this way.