I'm looking to get a new amp for gigging and recording. I have a line 6 spider 2 (i know...) i want a versatille amp that can range from blues, classic rock to metal etc. I love Slash's tone which i know leads to a marshall. I also love dimebag and lamb of god. I'm looking for something that can handle all of these as well as some good blues (like george thorogood).

my budget is around $1000 and i would like to get opinions before i buy an amp i'll regret. I'm new to the gear world.

Thank you to anyone who helps!
i have a peavey vypyr tube 60 watt.
sounds great, blows away the tone from a spider. amazing volume. all the features of a spyder but sounds good.
i play alot of metal, and the distortions sound great, but i dont play much else, so i cant really rate the muffs and effects and stuff.
Find a used Marshall DSL 401 and throw a pedal infront of it for heavier sounds.

Really a great amp, but the Vypyr tube is also a good sugguestion like the guy above said.
Gear:
-Gibson Les Paul Studio Cherry Sunburst w/ Alnico Pro II
-1960 Yamaha Orange Sticker Acoustic
-Marshall JCM2000 DSL 401
-Fender Hot Rod Deluxe
-Blackstar HT-5RH
Thanks a lot for the suggestions. I never would have thought of the Vypr. Any other suggestions out there?
i wouldn't suggest the vypyr. my sig is an explanation of why.

the used dsl wouldn't be bad
Quote by alm0st a skat3r
yeah i remember when i had a good conscience. now i dont give a ****

xxx
smoke weed, drink 40's, **** titties
maybe a marshall jcm 800? then throw a pedal in front for metal.

edit: also, don't get a vipyr. if you have a budget of $1000, DO NOT get a practice amp. if you want a good blues tone you want real tube breakup, and even the tube vipyr can't provide that. the tube is a gimmick.
Last edited by scaryfried at Aug 3, 2010,
frieds got it on the nose
Quote by alm0st a skat3r
yeah i remember when i had a good conscience. now i dont give a ****

xxx
smoke weed, drink 40's, **** titties