I was looking on the Seymour Duncan website and came across the Triple Shot. I'm going to be wanting some way to toggle to single coil mode on my humbuckers and am wondering if Triple Shot does that or if it is something else.

I'm pretty new to guitar customizing/equipment stuff, and am just wondering if I should look into the triple shot or if I am confused here (which I probably am either way).

Thanks.
It does Series (Normal Humbucker), Parallel (Both coils running independently), and coil splits, allowing for either coil to be turned on.

████████████
████████████

RBY CYOA
Does it only work with SD Pickups? And what is the advantage of using a Triple Shot over installing a switch yourself? Is it just that it's more convenient?

My guitar has two volume knobs and one tone knob and one pickup-selector. Without a Triple Shot would I have to drill a hole in the guitar to install a coil split selector or something?

Thanks.
Advantages:

A lot more versatile than simply toggle switches or push-pulls with the same controls.
Small.
Built in to the pickup ring already, so no routing required.

Disadvantages:

Smaller, so harder to hit quickly.
Possibly a bit pricier than switches, although still not horribly expensive.

No, it will work with any pickup with 4 conductor wiring, although you would have to be able to realize that the color coding would be different. And if you don't want anything crazy, it's very convenient.

Without it, you'd need 3 push pulls to do all the things it does, and it would probably have dead spots if not though out correctly. Although you could do a series/parallel with just one push pull, this gives you the option of actual coil splitting too.

With other switches, you could probably do it with 2, although you would still have to drill holes.

████████████
████████████

RBY CYOA
Quote by fixationdarknes
Does it only work with SD Pickups?
No, it'll work with any humbucker with four conductor wiring: