hey guys, i've been playing guitar for around 7 years now. and i'd class myself as higher level of intermediate. the only issue is that i decided to run before i could walk, ie i learned songs like muse-plug in baby before i learned smoke on the water. for the first year i barely knew any chords, and didn't bother to learn them. i know it's stupid of me...
but yeh, i can play the likes of plug in baby, sweet child of mine etc even some clapton and many other 'pick-y' type songs to a high standard.
and i can do chords, i know a fair amount of chords now, so can play some riffs and the like. my only problem is that my strum patterns just desert me after 30 seconds or so, i can't even do american idiot all the way through without messing up half a dozen times at least. and if i play and sing at the same time i'll be lucky to get to ten seconds before i mess up.
there's only ONE song i can play all the way through while singing at the same time and that's "tom petty & the heartbreakers - free falling"
so i guess it's back to the beginning strumming wise for me...

i know i messed up when starting out, i hold my hands up and admit i was wrong, and every new guitarist forum here i always post saying learn chords, get strum patterns down because i don't want others doing what i did and having to do some major u-turns later on down the line.

so can you guys tell me some exercises or techniques i can use to improve my strum patterns, i don't care if it's really really basic stuff, i guess i need to go back to the start on this one.

any songs you can suggest i start with aswell??? just need some form of guidance as to where to go.

thanks guys

JD
Belief is a beautiful armour but makes for the heaviest sword.
Last edited by Dempsey68 at Aug 3, 2010,