Is it possible that a guitarist can simply be uncreative? Meaning that they are the type of person who is incapable of producing any kind of interesting stuff.

I have been trying to write but its all sounding cheesy and basically pretty boring. I'll attach the best piece i have come up with and you might be able to see how lame it is. I cant even come up with interesting progressions never mind good lead parts.

I wouldn't say that I'm a natural musician because I have had to work damn hard for every bit of ability I have. I'm willing to work hard at composing but it seems at the moment to be like headbutting my way through a brick wall.

Is it worth persevering with writing? If so how do you go about finding cool rhythms and interesting progressions? How do you become a more creative guitarist?

Thats a lot of questions but I hope you can help.
Attachments:
Idea I - IV - vi - V in G.gp5
Last edited by vodkanoodle at Aug 3, 2010,
I don't think it's that bad, actually. Of course there is more interesting stuff, but don't force too much "interesting stuff" in a song. It will sound unnatural.
Quote by LuckyLu
I don't think it's that bad, actually. Of course there is more interesting stuff, but don't force too much "interesting stuff" in a song. It will sound unnatural.

Yeah, trying too hard will make you sound like Between the Buried and Me.
Quote by vodkanoodle
Is it possible that a guitarist can simply be uncreative? Meaning that they are the type of person who is incapable of producing any kind of interesting stuff.

Yes.

I wouldn't say that I'm a natural musician because I have had to work damn hard for every bit of ability I have. I'm willing to work hard at composing but it seems at the moment to be like headbutting my way through a brick wall.

You sound just like everyone else. We've all had our hard spots, you just have to go through them.

Is it worth persevering with writing?

Depends... do you enjoy it?