Since the bass player in my band recently purchased a 5 string (a move I wish he didn't make seeing how it throws our rhythm guy off and throws even himself off when I'm trying to explain how a bass line goes) I thought I would start this post to see what everyone else on here prefers. I'm a drummer first and foremost but have played bass as well for 8 years and will be a 4 stringer for life. I know I get crap all the time and have been told I'm somehow living in the past (whatever that means) and how 5 strings helps the bands image (so now music's about projecting an image?), but my arguments in favor of the 4 are...

1) There's nothing a 5 string has done that I wasn't able to accomplish on a 4.
2) Songs where the guitar are tuned down to E flat, D and even C sometimes still require the bass to have the top 4 tuned down anyway for ease of playing.
3) You're only getting 4 extra notes (E flat to B).
4) It's not as if it makes you a better bass player.
5) It's cheaper.
6) If it's good enough for Steve Harris it should certainly be good enough for me.

Don't get me wrong. I'm not trying to down on 5 stringers... Rob Trujillo and Ryan Martinie are great musicians, but they're skilled bass players regardless of what they play. Anyway, just something I was thinking about. I'm not trying to do any flaming and don't want others starting shit on here either. I'm just stating my preference.
5. I love the sound of the lows, but then still want the range. Im considering even getting a 6. If its throwing your friends, then they need to be less cretinous and learn to adapt.