Excessively Shortened Version Of Backstory:
Today I went to jam with a drummer friend of mine. He invited a mutual friend who has being playing bass for like a year. I have been playing for two years. He could play YYZ by Rush and Panic Attack by Dream Theater. I can't play Paranoid by Black Sabbath.
So yeah, I'm kinda deppressed right now. Feel like a shit bassist. The good part is it's motivated me to stop f*cking around and get serious. So I need a practice routine. A good intensive one. I mainly play pickstyle BTW. Please do help, and yes I do intend to practice daily unless something stops me from playing but I don't want to spend more than a day without practicing, at least 'til I feel I'm finally good enough (= being able to play complex bass solos). But I need the routine to be detailed (like, repeat this X times, at X bpm, etc). Please I'm desperate. Thank you.
Last edited by Silveroon009 at Aug 5, 2010,
First, I'm just going to put it out there that it's not a competition. It's great that you're more motivated to practice now, but I warn you, don't compare your progress against other players. You'll just end up stressing yourself out unnecessarily.

Now on to business. Would you like ideas for an overall well-rounded practice routine, or is there anything in particular you're having trouble with and you'd like to spend a little extra time on during your practice sessions? Also, how well do you know your fretboard and your scales, and can you give us a bit of a reference point as to the current extent of your abilities?
Composite Aficionado

Spector and Markbass
you should search before posting.
Marshall amplifiers are the truest purveyors of rock and roll known to man.

"And give a man an amplifier and a synthesizer, and he doesn't become whoever, you know. He doesn't become us."

Holy crap, check this out!
Quote by Tostitos