So i'm looking to get a usb/firewire mixer. My gear so far is a macbook pro running pro tools le (mbox2)
I'm just looking to get hold of something that I can record 8 tracks at once into pro tools.
No fixed budget, as I want to get hold of something thats reliable and works decently, but i am a student.
Cheers
MySpace Profile
If you don't eat your meat, you can't have any pudding. How can you have any pudding if you don't eat your meat?

That's way too vague man, needs more details. The more details the better I can help you out.
Any specific reason why it needs to be a mixer?

If you want to stay with Pro Tools LE you need any 003 rack or the 003 console (not a mixer i know but i doubt you really need it to be a mixer).
If not then what DAW are you gonna use? Do you need preamps in it or no?
Professional Tracking, Mixing and Mastering available.
Available for live sound, consultation and rig/ system designing in and around the Montreal, CA area.
PM for details.

Past clients/ credits include: The Catalyst, Click! and Alain Caron.
Look into the Mackie Onyx mixers. They send out the audio right after the preamps and keep each input on it's own track after going down the firewire which is very important.

The USB mixers mostly tend to mix everything down and only send out a stereo mix to the computer which is very limiting.
Quote by moody07747
Look into the Mackie Onyx mixers. They send out the audio right after the preamps and keep each input on it's own track after going down the firewire which is very important.

The USB mixers mostly tend to mix everything down and only send out a stereo mix to the computer which is very limiting.

This is solid advice about the usb vs firewire mixer issue