im relitively new to bass and i have a squire classic vibe p bass with a peavey max 112 and i cant seem to find a right tone. i want a high poppy sound that goes well with playing with a pick to play blink, green day type music. i have my high all the way up on my amp and right now the low and mid at half. the G D A strings all sound find but the E isnt really a solid noise more than just a loud vibration. since im new any tips on bass tone would be welcome but what im mainly looking for is how to get that e to be more solid and poppy

EDIT: since i am new to basses with my p-bass the pickups instead of being level like a guitar pickup are sticking upmore in the air. is that normal or do i need to tighten it?
Last edited by zchavez09 at Aug 5, 2010,
crank the mids, make sure you're action and truss rod are set right too if it's just the one string you're not happy with.
Quote by zchavez09
im relitively new to bass and i have a squire classic vibe p bass with a peavey max 112 and i cant seem to find a right tone. i want a high poppy sound that goes well with playing with a pick to play blink, green day type music. i have my high all the way up on my amp and right now the low and mid at half. the G D A strings all sound find but the E isnt really a solid noise more than just a loud vibration. since im new any tips on bass tone would be welcome but what im mainly looking for is how to get that e to be more solid and poppy

EDIT: since i am new to basses with my p-bass the pickups instead of being level like a guitar pickup are sticking upmore in the air. is that normal or do i need to tighten it?