I've been playing for 4 years, but didn't REALLY get serious about playing until about a year ago. I play bass and guitar, and I guess I'm pretty mediocre at both. I'm gonna start jamming with a couple of guys pretty soon who know what they're doing in an indie/alternative kind of band.

I know the blues scale, natural major and minor scale formations and can play them with relative ease, which has helped my improvising.
When I play bass, I use my knowledge of fifths, thirds, etc. to spice up my bass lines, but I still feel as if my guitar and bass playing is really stale. I know the names of most of the notes on the E and A string off the top of my head, but it takes me a while to figure out the note names on the rest of the strings. I also have a pretty good ear, so I can listen to a bass line and figure things out pretty well.

I also feel as if me playing guitar for so long has negatively effected me as a bass player. I feel like my riffs are more melodic based and don't compliment the groove or rhythm as well as they should.

I want to get better, but I don't know where to start, what to practice, how long to practice, etc. Does anyone have any suggestions? Any would be appreciated, I'm trying really hard to become a better bass player.