Ok, so I picked up slapping and popping maybe two months ago, and have always had probs slapping the A string. I can slap the E string perfectly fine, but I have troubles with the A string. It sounds like I'm muting the string or something, the note comes out quietly, or sometimes you cant even hear it. I also end up accidently slapping the E string. I cant use my left thumb to mute the E string because it limits what my other fingers can do.

Any suggestions please? Thanks!!!
"Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?"

(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(") signature to help him gain world domination
I'm no expert at slapping, but I tend to slap from a different angle on any string that isn't the 4th. I tend to have my thumb closer to the bridge, and I move straight down.
Quote by SMbassist
I'm no expert at slapping, but I tend to slap from a different angle on any string that isn't the 4th. I tend to have my thumb closer to the bridge, and I move straight down.

Alright, thanks!!

(\__/)
Quote by supersac
pretend its a woman
i have no helpful advice

(\__/)
@ Supersac: LOL. (It kinda does help.) (before a mod comes to delete my post, I'm only joking. Maybe)

@ Evan K.: Just remember, I may be doing it wrong. I'm not a slapstyle expert. Not really into the funkstyle music, I'm more of just your average rock n' roll/metal bassist. I only use slaps about 20% of the time, just to emphasize certain notes. However, if you have the right distortion, you can get a really mean bite from your tone when you Slap. Mine sounds like a roar, basically. If you want to practice your slapping, play some korn. It's simple, but almost everything Fieldy does is slap, so it will get you used to playing slap. Primus' simple stuff will also help, too.
Last edited by SMbassist at Aug 7, 2010,
Quote by SMbassist
@ Supersac: LOL. (It kinda does help.) (before a mod comes to delete my post, I'm only joking. Maybe)