So I'd say i'm fairly new to the electric guitar, as I've only been playing for two years. The only new equiptment i've owned i've built myself. The rest is used, mostly from pawn shops. My first guitar was an Aria Pro STG series, a Stratocaster knockoff with a S-S-H pickup configuration. It's played very well for me, as far as I know. I've recently made it a new pickguard so that it has a H-H picup configuration, and I've replaced the frets, but haven't been able to smooth them up yet. The guitar is about 12 years old.

So my question is thus: Do you think that My cheap Aria Pro Asian Import Strat-ripoff is inferior to a new Ibanez or some other such, or would it be plausible to play "decent" music on it?

I've noticed on YouTube that a lot of people are biased away from DIY equiptment.
It depends on the Ibanez, really. There are complete shit Ibanez's, and there are completely mindblowing onees.

If you like your current guitar, don't force yourself to be dissatisfied with it just because other people would be.

Any guitar can play any kind of music, as long as you have an amp that will let it. So I don't know what you mean by "would it be plausible to play "decent" music on it?".
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

My band:
Fractured Instinct
(For fans of Death/Groove/Prog Metal)

Ibanez RGA42E
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301
Ibanez RG520
Peavey Predator USA
Douglas Grendel 725
Line 6 Pod HD500X
I recently learned that my first guitar, a synsonics strat knockoff, sounds awesome through my main rig. I hadn't touched it in at least 7 years, then I broke it out as a joke, and now I'm writing with it. Something about the super low output p.o.s. single coils sounds really unsteady, like the notes are trying to cave in on themselves. It made for a very cool jam session.

My point: if the guitar continues to make sounds you like, keep playing it.
Guitar: Fender Strat (SD Hot Rails in bridge, SD lil 59 in neck)