For some reason, even though everybody I know says bass is easier, I'm a much better guitarist than bassist. I have a lot of problems learning covers because there's often a bassline that won't repeat, you know what I mean? Like a bassline that I can't memorize because it'll keep changing. I have 1 book ("progressive rock bass"), and I've learned a bit from my friends who play. The basslines I write usually aren't that creative, and I don't have very good control with my right hand when playing.

I was thinking the best thing to do is to go back to the basics, which I mostly skipped thinking my knowledge of theory and bass technique was "good enough for now." Can anyone recommend books or anything? What did you guys do when you began to learn the bass?
i play guitar mainly but i had to pick up a bass for a gig. to help me with bass i just looked at some of my favorite bands and followed how they bassists played. i played with pick because plucking and playing slap are overrated and using a pick i think is more suffiecient. and really playing stuff you enjoy helps. using tabs help obviously and playing simple stuff first is important. playing stuff like metal or like geddy lee style is more advanced