Hi everyone,
I need to find a good web site for guitar lessons.
I do not have any decent guitar teachers in my area so the only other way I can think of is to use the internet.

I am just starting to learn so a site which starts at the basics and builds from there would be great.

I would like to learn some basic theory as well as the practical side, but I DONT want to be taught nursery rhymes. I know I will lose interest if I have to learn them.

Cheers and thanks

Excentric
Ibanez SA260
Peavey Vypyr
Check out Metal Method’s DVD course. No nursery rhymes, no folk music, no dumbed-down blues songs by guys only Berklee grads have ever heard of. Just hard rock and metal by a guy who has actually been in hard rock and metal bands. Comes with PDF tab and animated scorch files along with a support message board.
Hi Excentric and welcome to UG.

There are a number of "teach yourself music theory" books out there; once you know the modal part you really only need to know your fretboard and assorted techniques (most of which are easy to teach yourself).

Also, UG!
Current Gear:
LTD MH-400
PRS SE Custom 24 (Suhr SSH+/SSV)
Ibanez RG3120 Prestige (Dimarzio Titans)
Squier Vintage Modified 70s Jazz V
Audient iD22 interface
Peavey Revalver 4, UAD Friedman BE100/DS40
Adam S3A monitors
Quote by Anonden
You CAN play anything with anything....but some guitars sound right for some things, and not for others. Single coils sound retarded for metal, though those who are apeshit about harpsichord probably beg to differ.
Quote by Ghefly
http://www.justinguitar.com

http://www.youtube.com/user/JustinSandercoe

His youtube lessons are literally the best out there, he does theory lesson, genre/style lessons, song lessons etc. etc.

Definitely worth checking out.

Yes, I agree. Youtube is full of really great guitar learning lessons. Some even have the tabs that appear on the screen as you play the notes.