Page 1 of 2
Hey Everyone,

I'm looking to buy a new guitar. I've been playing a squier strat for a few years and I want to upgrade. My main type of music is punk like The sex Pistols, The Ramones, The Misfits, Nirvana.

Does anyone have have any ideas on what guitar would suit this style of music. I was thinking about an epiphone les paul or squier jagmaster.

I like my squier strat except the pickups are single coil and I find the sound to be too thin especially on the bridge pickup.

So what do you guys think, Thank you for reading this. Any advice would be much appreciated!!
What sounds you can achieve depends largely on your amp. Punk players have used a wide range of guitars - basically, anything goes, unless you have a specific tone in mind. The easiest route are humbuckers or P90 pups, usually.

But first, what amp are you using?
If it is a good one, you can get a great rock tone from your bridge pup, even when using single coils.

If your Squier plays well, I'd keep it and invest in a new amp and possibly a new pup, though the latter might not even be necessary.
If you want that thicker sound go for the Les Paul style. Or you could even just get new pickups. Just try different stuff out, I have an Ibanez srz 520, you've probably never heard of it but it sounds just as good as a les paul but its a lot lighter (les pauls are really heavy if you're used to a strat), and it was cheaper.
Thanks for the reply man.

I own a marshall 250 dfx 100watt, pretty good but I feel as if my guitar is letting me down a bit.

I was considering buying a new a bridge pickup for my squier, preferably a humbucker to get a thicker sound and to get rid of the hum!!, But I dont know what type to get maybe a seymour duncan, I'm not great when it comes to pickups and there is so many diffferent types out there,

Oh yeah I own a ds-1 pedal as well, which I use instead of the amps distortion
Well Kurt used Strats and Mustangs with single-coil pickups, jus sayin