I'm an accomplished guitarist in the hard rock/metal genre, but I'm looking to expand my range. Any good jazz songs to learn??

P.S. Any gear suggestions would be welcome.

EDIT: Ok, maybe not accomplished. But I'm adequate.
Last edited by Snowman388 at Aug 9, 2010,
Download the RealBook, and take your pic. The RealBook has thousands of jazz standards.
I highly suggest learning some Miles Davis and John Coltraine. Check out "So What." That's the first jazz song I learned and it's great for theory purposes as well. (Quartal theory, interesting chord progressions, and stuff like that).

And the original isn't copyrighted so you can legally torrent/share it.
Quote by sadSTATUE
Uhmmm... Well, apparently I was mentioned in a thread called "Japan and Lesbians."

Quote by Unknown_Biskit
Try typing "potatoes" with your dick then submit it.

My cover of Manchester Orchestra's "I Can Feel Your Pain"
http://www.mediafire.com/?jfvt54j4mkiiq99
Quote by crazysam23_Atax
I recommend you try some Free Jazz stuff. Or maybe look at Jango Rheinhardt's work.

Django Reinhardt (not being a jerk, it's just easier to find by the right spelling)
Django is a great recommendation, check out Minor Swing.

Also look at Mike Stern, he was a rock guitarist way back when before he switched into jazz. I recommend the album Who Let The Cat's Out?
Alvarez dreadnought
Gibson SG
EC-1000
Homemade Strat (seymour duncan classic stack p/ups)
Vox Tonelab (original desktop model) with full board footswitch
Vox AD50
Quote by bokma
Go out and buy a real/ book!

Some popular jazz standards you could start with: Misty, Autumn Leaves, My Funny Valentine...

this.

also, my favorite jazz standard to play atm is Straight No Chaser by Thelonious Monk. pretty catchy tune.
My Gear:
Gibson Faded Flying V
"Dante's Inferno" Iceman
Fender Hot Rod Deluxe 112
etc.

Quote by freedoms_stain
I can't imagine anything worse than shagging to Mark Knopfler.

Maybe shagging Mark Knopfler, but that's about it.