Hey I'm a newbie and I just bought a used Schecter S1 elite that came with 11 gauge D'Addario strings

I'm having trouble on a song called In The End by Linkin park. I can't play the chords when you use your index finger only and they look like this: ( what are they called anyways?)
|---------
|--------
|--------
|5-------
|5-------
|5-------

I can't play these type of chords without one of the strings buzzing or sounding muffled unless I spend like a whole minute trying to play the chord. I think the placement of my finger might be incorrect because I'm pressing the strings hard enough to leave 3 lines on my finger. Any suggestions?
You could always play it with three fingers instead of one. That might be easier.
It's always hard at first. You should fret it just behind the 5th fret, you just need to build up finger strength.
You can call me Aaron.

♠♣♥♦
Out on parole, any more instances of plum text and I get put back in...
Try putting lighter strings on your guitar, then gradually move up as your fingers get stronger.
I'm the musical equivalent of driving a Sherman tank to work.
Hi there, the type of chord you are attempting to play is called a power chord. The biggest piece of advice I could give you, as stated above, is to put on some lighter gauge strings or even standard (10-42) and to try using 3 fingers instead of one, and keeping at it. It's hard at first but with persistence, it will come evenually
It seems like you're barring the 3 strings. Try to press them all down with your index finger. Don't try to barre the strings with your whole finger. Only use the tip and mid-section of your finger. Also if you find that difficult try turning your finger slightly on its side. It'll hurt at first but you'll get used to it soon.