SORRY IF THIS IS A LOT TO READ, BUT I WOULD LIKE HELP IF YOU HAVE ANY

Ok, I've been learning a good amount of music theory in the past couple years.
I've learned my basic scales - major, minor, pentatonic, harmonic minor
I've learned my modes within the scales - Ionian, Dorian, etc...
I've learned my chords, constructing them, progressions, and how they fit within the scales.

I've been playing for 5, almost 6 years
my guitar teacher showed me my first scale (pentatonic) 2 years ago, and we would take turns soloing with it. Before then, I pretty much only played tabs and chords.

Since then, I've learned my scales and i solo with them by myself
After a while of learning some theory, I start to see the relations on my fretboard
like how the chords and arpeggios fit within the scales.

I know the basics in music theory and then some.
just wanted to give an overview of my experience so you guys know what level I'm at

I've been having a hard time utilizing my scales and modes to create feelings i want. I'm into progressive metal, my fav bands are Protest the hero, the human abstract, as blood runs black.

So I'm usually looking to create somber, depressing, sad, profound moods while using a lot of technical skills.

I normally just sit with my guitar in my room and play on the scales and modes. I try and play around with all modes. I've gotten a good feel for them.

I would say my fav mode is the Aeolian (minor scale), i also play with the harmonic minor. I try to create the feelings i mentioned. I suppose half the time, i get somewhat of a coherent melancholy feel, but the other half is just very bland.

I would like any help, tips, book/website references for being able to create moods

Thanks guys
just one more thing.
I've learned to use major and minor 3rd intervals within my soloing
but i need more tools to help create mood
ha yeah, I've been switching back and forth between Drop C and standard
Maybe incorporate some diminished scale and arpeggios into your work.