Fender '85-'86 MIJ Contemporary Stratocaster Score Review: 10/10

It might be weird to hear someone say "I couldn't find the guitar I wanted, so I settled with an American Stratocaster", but in this case, it was true since I started playing guitar. The best thing I could find was my 2005 USA deluxe. It had a certain thing about it I fell in love with.

Well all that changed last night. I've watched this particular market for years waiting for one of these to pop up, because it's the HSS version with a System I, and the System I, will take you to places you thought were only possible with FR or Edge tremolos. It's blocked for now with installed trees, because frankly, I don't use the whammy bar, and I don't have the locking nut yet.

Pickups are currently unknown: Whoever owned this guitar previously knew how to get tone. I haven't ripped it open yet because I can't stop playing it. Either way, I will not be changing these pickups. Classic strat sounds I can't achieve on my USA deluxe, but with a screaming humbucker that gives me tone I've dreamed about. I like to play metal as well as blues, and this is the machine to do it.

Stay in tune? Not a problem. The System I is amazing. Why they would stop making this is beyond me.

Fastest neck I've ever played on. For months I've been looking to replace my Gibson Les Paul Studio, for my hard rock / shred tone, and I played every guitar you can probably name. Needless to say I though I was going to end up with another USA Strat, HSS.

So where do I find this of all places? The Guitar Center, LOL! The guy who had it behind the counter knew nothing about it. Honestly, for the price I got it at, I laughed all the way to the bank.