I'm looking for a new guitar, it will be my second I've been playing for nearly two years, and I've narrowed it down to either a Fender Deluxe Players Strat (mexican) or a PRS SE Custom 22 or 24 or a 25th anniversary PRS SE Custom 24

The style of music I play is Pink Floyd/Led Zep/Eagles that type of stuff.
Not sure what I should get as at my local store I can get both around the same price range I was looking in.

Any insight into my problem would be great.
Try them both out and get the one you prefer to play and like the tone of
For the price of a PRS se, you could get an american strat.
Quote by santa_man99
THANK you. I love you forever.

Quote by DrFuzz
Why are you researching for Christmas? It's only Ma- HOLY CRAP WHERE'S 2009 GONE!?!?!?

Quote by ilikepirates
You're right, that is weird. You win.
Both great guitars, down to prefference really. But I'd say the PRS is more versitile, and I'd have that, but I am a Tele man myself.
Quote by jk2034
Not sure what I should get as at my local store I can get both around the same price range I was looking in.

Here's your answer if you ask me, if they're both available at your local store, they're both available for you to try out and choose between one or the other. If you can, ask if they'd mind you A/B'ing between them for an hour or so, and choose for yourself, eventually one should feel more 'right' than the other.
i would say the mahogany body of the prs would be better for what you want to play, but if you do look at the prs look at an american special strat rather than a mexican
Well, David Gilmour used a Strat for the majority of the Floyd records, with some notable exceptions (for example, the solo on 'Another Brick in the Wall (Part 2)' was done on a Les Paul) and so that's a good place to start. Having said that, his enormous collection of customised effects had a lot to do with the sound as well.

If I was you, I'd go the Strat.
Marshall amplifiers are the truest purveyors of rock and roll known to man.