Hi all!

I'm looking for some advice in choosing new pickups for my Les Paul Ultra II...

I've had this guitar for 2 years and now I want to upgrade it...

First: I'm considering Graphtech Resomax nv2 bridge and black tusq xl nut. Is this a good idea?

Second: the biggest problem is that I really don't like this guitar sound when using some distortion pedal... my older guitar ( a 100$ reeeeeally bad guitar ) sounds better with some distortion applied...

I play mostly Dream Theater stuff, and I play in a metal/hard rock cover band so I started looking for new pickups and since I have a dimarzio dealer not too far away I was wondering which would fit better my LP...

I came up with 3 options

1 - Evolution pickups on both neck and bridge
2 - Liquifire pickups on both neck and bridge
3 - CrunchLab bridge and liquifire neck

I have no idea which one would fit a les paul better...
The first one seems a good multipurpose and the third a good one for petrucci's stuff but I have no experience in pickups so I'm asking which would be better for me and if there are better configurations that I ignored

Thanks in advance (and sorry for my bad english !)
I'll say it before 50 others say it. Get a new GOOD amp before pickups. If you don't have a decent tube amp, even 300 dollar hand wound pickups will give you nearly NO improvement in tone.

Also I don't think you would get too much difference in that bridge, doesn't seem worth the 80 USD. The nut can't hurt, but unless you have a tremolo or if you current nut is 'rough' and catching the strings, then again, might not be worth the time and money.

-What amp are you currently using?
Last edited by yanko693 at Aug 12, 2010,
I actually run a pod x3 live through an HH Electronics VX-150... it is an old but amazing high performance power amplifier... clean sounds are amazing but I struggle getting good distorted lead sounds (and my x3 doesn't really help ) ....