Since I started playing around 5 years ago I have always picked with and open palm and my fingers hanging loosely. For about a year now I have constantly been changing the way I pick from a open hand to a closed fist. I find that when I play with a closed fist, I can play faster and cleaner as well. It's like I have more control when I play that way. The problem I have with the closed fist is that its so damn uncomfortable for me. I just cant get used to the way my index finger and middle finger feel when they are in a fist.

As a result, I end up switching back to picking with a open hand and just feel like I have less control over the strings. Keep in mind I can play rhythm fine but when it comes to lead I can play better with a closed fist. Should I just continue playing with an open hand or try to become comfortable with the closed fist?
Last edited by Metallica456 at Aug 13, 2010,
try not to make a real fist but make it a little bit open so that all your fingers are almost parallel...thats like i pick...

i dont like it when my fingers are almost at my palm...

hope that helps
both are fine, i use them both
Fender Stratocaster USA Deluxe 2005
MIJ Fender Contemporary Stratocaster '85-'86 HSS System I DiMarzio SD Bridge
Epiphone 2010 Les Paul Tribute
Ibanez AW30ECE Acoustic
Line 6 IV 75w (lol)
i play whatever is comfortable. i find that if your comfortable you can play better
I kinda just let my hand do whatever it wants, I never really think about it. I guess I kinda do what your talking about, play rhythm parts with my hand more open and then bring my fingers in for solos and stuff. If you can play better with a closed fist I guess I'd do that, but you wouldn't want to be un-comfortable either. Just try playing around with your fingers in different positions and see if you can find a place that lets you keep your control and be comfortable.