Hello,
I'm thinking about getting myself a bass guitar, I have no experience whatsoever with musical instruments but I wanted to try it out and a bass was my first choice.

What do bass do you suggest?

I wanted something cheap around 200€ for the bass and 300-350€ for both the bass and the amp, I don't really want to spend any more than that since I don't really know how much I will enjoy it and I'm a beginner after all so please don't suggest pricy stuff.

My favorite bassists usually use stingrays, and I've listened to jazz basses and p basses to compare and it was the sound that suited me the most (again, I haven't actually played anything so..) but it's too much of an investment and I can't seem to find a good entry level musicman style bass.

From what I've heard and read I was leaning towards a PJ bass, and out of those I was thinking of getting a Squier Frank Bello Jazz Bass, I'm not a huge fan of skulls but I do like the design and it costs the same as a Squier P Bass Special (around 230&euro.

As for an amp, I was leaning towards a Marshall MB15 or a Marshall MB30, are they good or is there anything better in the same price range? (80€ for the MB15 and 115€ for the MB30)

Also I was really leaning towards buying new rather than getting an used one since I don't know enough about the subject to get good deals and I don't want to risk it, I was thinking of ordering online, probably from http://www.dv247.com/ does anyone have any experience with that site? Is there another cheap site for europe?

Thanks in advanced for the responses.

PS: If it makes it easier for you brits my budget would be around 300£.
I recommend the Squier P-Bass or Jazz Bass.
Ampwise, the Ashdown Perfect Ten is great value.

¦ Epiphone Sheraton II ¦ GFS Mean 90s ¦ Ampeg J-20 ¦
¦ Fulltone OCD ¦ MXR 6-Band EQ ¦ Behringer Chorus ¦ Artec Analog Delay ¦ EHX Holy Grail ¦
For just starting out you should get a starter pack. No need to dump money on gear on something you might not like.