So basically its my sister's birthday soon, shes going to be 15 and she's a complete beginner (and i'm not). Shes leaning towards an acoustic guitar, but i say that a classical will advance her better. Which should she choose?
No ego-inflating quotes nor stupidly long signatures to be found here.

Move along.

Bands/Artists of the month; Marco Sfogli, Marco Sfogli and Marco Sfogli .

Quote by steve_muse
^lol'd at the sig, adj209
Acoustic
Epiphone Les Paul Custom (Alpine White)

Line 6 Spider IV 75w

Digitech Whammy Pedal

Dunlop Crybaby

Boss DS-1

Ibanez Jumpstart Metal Guitar

Ibanez Jumpstart 15w amp
acoustic(steelstring) would be more diverse than a classical guitar and would be better for playing more popular music the classical guitar isnt as suited for that kind of music as the acoustic guitar although the nylon strings on the classical would be easier on her fingers
also its her birthday get her what she wants but warn her that it will hurt
Last edited by supersac at Aug 14, 2010,
If you're not playing classical guitar music, there's seriously no point at all in getting a classical guitar. Especially when we're talking about a 15 year old girl who probably has relatively small hands.
Epiphone Dot
DIY Esquire w/Neovin Power Rock pickup
Vox AC30VR 212
Arion MTE-1 (LED clipping diodes added)
Vox Tonelab LE
Roland SDE1000 delay

Quote by DaMarsbarPerson
By high-gain I don't mean stupid stuff. I just mean styles like Motley Crue or Iron Maiden
Last edited by MortifiedLizard at Aug 14, 2010,
Steel strung Acoustic.

They sound better for the kind of stuff she'll most likely be playing, and the higher string tension and harder steel strings will "break in" her fingers faster to build up callouses.

Why would a classical advance her any better than an acoustic.
Quote by Kensai

Awesome guy right here
Quote by Joeval
Steel strung Acoustic.