So, I have been playing electrics for a few years. I have considered buying a bass to piss around with just for fun, no gigging or anything. I am pretty much unexperienced with bass. So I have been researching and playing around a little at the local store (all my local store has are a few Yamahas, a few squires, a couple peavys and an LTD or 2). So basically I made up my mind NOT to buy from my local store. I am CONSIDERING maybe taking a few hour trip to a GC but I dont know if I really want to.

But basically I grew up understanding that Squires are garbage. But playing a J bass felt pretty nice and I also tried a 60s vibe J bass that I liked.

But basically I want some insite on squires. I have read review after review on numerous sights have nothing but good reviews (well obviously a few bad... but the good far exceed the bad).

I am looking to spend $300 or less on a guitar that is pretty solidly built, but if I get sick of the tone can just switch out the pick ups and it will last me a long time. I do not just want to buy a bass that feels good today and in a month the wood cracks at the neck, the neck warps and the frets start pulling up. Squire appears to me to be my best bet but does anyone else have any good input.
Quote by jsspang
So, I have been playing electrics for a few years. I have considered buying a bass to piss around with just for fun, no gigging or anything. I am pretty much unexperienced with bass. So I have been researching and playing around a little at the local store (all my local store has are a few Yamahas, a few squires, a couple peavys and an LTD or 2). So basically I made up my mind NOT to buy from my local store. I am CONSIDERING maybe taking a few hour trip to a GC but I dont know if I really want to.

But basically I grew up understanding that Squires are garbage. But playing a J bass felt pretty nice and I also tried a 60s vibe J bass that I liked.